Governor Makes Appointments To Edison College District Board

Mar 15, 2006

Edison College District President Kenneth P. Walker announces that Governor Jeb Bush has appointed David Klein, M.D., Punta Gorda, and Randall Parrish, Jr., O.D., LaBelle, as members of the Edison College District Board of Trustees. Klein, an Eye Surgeon, succeeds Darol Carr for a term beginning June 1, 2006 and ending May 31, 2010. Parrish, a Doctor of Optometry, succeeds Kenneth Downing for a term beginning March 1, 2006 and ending May 31, 2008.

Enid Gorvine of Punta Gorda and Mahlan Houghton, Jr., of Fort Myers, have been reappointed for four year terms beginning June 1, 2006 and ending May 31, 2010.

“I am delighted to learn of the appointments and reappointments, and welcome our new District Board members,� said Walker. “Dr. Klein has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Edison College Foundation, Inc. since 2000, and Dr. Parrish is a distinguished Edison College graduate. Their professional, community and personal perspectives will serve the College well.�

The District Board of Trustees is charged with the responsibility for exercising maximum local autonomy to establish rules, policies, and procedures to make certain the College is meeting the changing post-secondary educational needs of the community and is reflecting the community’s values in fulfilling the college mission. Edison College serves Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry and Lee Counties and is governed by a nine-member Board.