

Friday 4/3/2015 1:00-2:00

Locations: Thomas Edison AA-177 Charlotte E-105 Collier M-201 Hendry/Glades A-106

- i. Agenda Adoption
- ii. Minutes Adoption
- iii. Action Items:
 - a. Elections

Office of the President:

Martin Tawil

Amanda Lehrian

Office of the Vice President:

Rebecca Harris (unopposed)

Campus Reps:

Frank Dowd: Thomas Edison Campus – Lee (unopposed)

Lisa McGarity: Collier (unopposed)

H/G: Amanda Lehrian (unopposed)

Charlotte: Elijah Pritchett (unopposed)

School and Department Reps:

Jill Hummel - Schools of Art, Humanities and Social Sciences



Vacant: School of Business

Mary Robertson: School of Education

Martha Jenner: School of Health Professions

Sandra Seifert: School of Pure and Applied Sciences

Kelley Newhouse: College Success and Leaning Resources

b. Proposed Mission Statement:

MISSION

The mission of the Faculty Senate is to lead the faculty toward fulfilling their responsibilities in the shared governance of Florida SouthWestern State College and to represent faculty interests to the college's administration. The Faculty Senate is responsible for exercising its vested authority to ensuring that faculty input is sustained, and to oversee policy and procedures that promote an effective and healthy educational environment. The Faculty Senate serves as a liaison between faculty and administration. This includes:

- informing faculty about college policies, procedures, and substantive changes made by the administration;
- making recommendations to the VPAA/Provost and President regarding faculty educational issues; and
- making recommendations to faculty and administration on college policies.

The Faculty Senate is a strong advocate for academic freedom and expression as the basic tenet of the higher education community and the instructional environment at FSW.

iv. Committee Updates:

Learning Assessment Committee

- v. Information Items:
 - a. Student Success Data update
- vi. Faculty Updates
- vii. New Business