Learning Assessment Committee

Responsibility: The Learning Assessment Committee is charged with developing and recommending procedures and best practices which provide the college with measureable data to assess student learning. The Learning Assessment Committee will assist academic disciplines develop plans to develop assessment strategies, rubrics, and methods for using data to make changes in the delivery of course material to promote student success.

- Make formal recommendations on the best practices for data collection, assessing results, and making changes to promote student success in General Education.
- Make formal recommendations on the best practices for data collection, assessing results, and making changes to promote student success in academic disciplines.
- Work with the Division of Learning Innovation, Faculty Development, and Edison Online to develop training for all faculty in assessment strategies, developing and using rubrics, and making course modifications.
- Each faculty committee member is their discipline's assessment liaison and has responsibility to keep the department involved in the assessment process.

Membership: Director of Course Level Assessment and Registrar; one member of the Office of Research, Technology, and Accountability; one Academic Dean, and one faculty member from each of the following departments/disciplines: College and Career Readiness, Education, Business and Technology,

Mathematics, Biological Science, Physical Sciences, English, Humanities, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages, Speech, Health Sciences, Library, Social and Behavioral Sciences, History. Faculty members will serve for a three year term and are limited to two consecutive three-year terms (with the exception of the Chair who will serve for a minimum of two additional years after assuming the role of Chair.) Membership should include faculty from Lee, Collier, and Charlotte Campuses and the Hendry/Glades Center.

Committee Chair: The Provost/VPAA will appoint the Learning Assessment Committee Chair to serve for 2015-2016 and 2016-2017. Subsequently, the Learning Assessment Chair will be elected from the faculty membership on the committee and will serve for a two year term, subject to the approval of the Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Meetings: Monthly September through April.

Reporting: The Learning Assessment Committee Chair will meet with the Provost/VPAA twice a semester to update him/her on the Committee recommendations and suggested actions. Meeting minutes must be maintained and will be posted for all College review within 2 weeks of each meeting. Committee members will make sure their discipline's Learning Assessment plan, results, and actions taken are updated once a semester on the Learning Assessment Website.

Learning Assessment Committee Roster (2016-2017)

LAC Membership 2016-2017

Name	School or Department	Member Type	Rotation Schedule
Dr. Amy Trogan	English	Chair	2015-2017 (2-year Chair Term)
Marty Ambrose	English	General Member	2016-2019
Dr. Rebecca Harris	English	Assessment Coordinator	2016-2019
Dr. Richard Worch	School of Business & Tech	Assessment Coordinator	2016-2019
Jennifer Patterson	School of Business & Tech	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Caroline Seefchak	Education	Assessment Coordinator	2014-2017
Megan Just	Education	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Sarah Lublink	Humanities/Fine Arts	Assessment Coordinator	2014-2017
Dr. Elijah Pritchett	Humanities/Fine Arts	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Katie Paschall	Speech/Foreign Language	Assessment Coordinator	2016-2019
Fernando Mayoral	Speech/Foreign Language	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
John Connell	Speech/Foreign Language	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Colleen Moore	Health Professions	Assessment Coordinator	2014-2017

Margaret Kruger	Health Professions	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Eric Seelau	Social Sciences	Assessment Coordinator	2015-2018
Thomas Donaldson	Social Sciences	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Jane Charles	Library	Assessment Coordinator	2016-2019
Vacant	Library	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Kristi Moran	Mathematics	Assessment Coordinator	2015-2018
Vacant	Mathematics	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Marius Coman	Science	Assessment Coordinator	2015-2018
Dr. Lisa McGarity	Science	General Member	2016-2017 (one-year renewable)
Dr. Erik Fay	Science	General Member	2016-2019 (one-year renewable)
Barb Miley	Accountability	Ex officio (non-voting)	
Dr. Joseph van Gaalen	Academic Assessment	Ex officio (non-voting)	
Allison Studer	Academic Assessment	Ex officio (non-voting)	
Dr. Eileen DeLuca	Academic Affairs	Ex officio (non-voting)	