FSW Faculty Receive Master Teacher Recognition Awards

Mar 23, 2017

MARCH 23, 2017 – FORT MYERS, FLA – Florida SouthWestern State College (FSW) recently named the first recipients of the 2017 Master Teacher Recognition award.

Recipients are FSW English Professor Marty Ambrose, FSW Mathematics Professor Dr. Rebecca Gubitti, FSW First Year Experience Professor Dr. Mary Myers, and FSW Speech and Foreign Language Professor Dr. Katie Paschall.

“With the support of FSW Provost, Dr. Jeff Stewart, we were able to create the Master Teachers Recognition award to promote faculty involvement as facilitators and presenters in the FSW’s Teaching and Learning Center (TLC),” said Myra Walters, coordinator, Professional Development and Faculty Engagement. “These four recipients have a track record of teaching excellence in the classroom and supporting the professional development of their colleagues through TLC activities as participants or presenters.”

Faculty members who are selected for the award are recognized by the FSW Provost during a special awards ceremony. They also work alongside with the Coordinator of Professional Development and Faculty Engagement to design and present professional development workshops for FSW faculty.


Florida SouthWestern State College is Southwest Florida’s largest and one of the most affordable institutions of higher education. Annually serving nearly 22,000 students globally, FSW offers a variety of nationally-ranked, career-focused academic programs with two- and four-year degrees, and professional certifications. Students are also active in clubs and programs catered to their interests. FSW debuted its intercollegiate athletics program in January 2016. Visit www.FSW.edu for more information.