History of Florida SouthWestern State College Accreditation

With the first students admitted to then Edison Junior College in the fall of 1962, the college continues to provide students with the opportunity to fulfill their professional goals. On July 1, 2014, the college was renamed Florida SouthWestern State College (FSW). The college offers Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, and Baccalaureate degrees, as well as various certificate programs. Please visit our academics page to learn more about our programs.

Lee County Campus, renamed the Thomas Edison Campus in 2014, has 24 permanent structures, including the Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Hall.

The Collier County Campus opened in March of 1992. The beautiful campus, which includes four, state-of-the-art, energy- and environmentally-efficient buildings, is located on an 80-acre site near State Road 951 and Rattlesnake Hammock Road, in south Naples within Lely Resort. The Charlotte County Campus opened in 1997. Located on a wooded site on Airport Road in Punta Gorda, the campus features an observatory. FSW also provides services to students in Hendry and Glades counties on its Hendry/Glades Center located in LaBelle.

Florida SouthWestern State College is governed by its District Board of Trustees composed of nine representatives from Charlotte, Collier, Hendry, Glades and Lee counties. The members are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor of Florida.

1964 - SACSCOC Accreditation Candidate

1966 - Original Accreditation granted by SACSCOC

1970 - Reaffirmation of Accreditation with SACSCOC

1981 - Reaffirmation of Accreditation with SACSCOC

1991 - Reaffirmation of Accreditation with SACSCOC

2001 - Reaffirmation of Accreditation with SACSCOC

2012 - Reaffirmation of Accreditation with SACSCOC

2022 - Reaffirmation of Accreditation with SACSCOC

Important Events and Accreditation History of FSW

1962 – Founded as Edison Junior College; admitted first students

1965 - Lee Campus (now Thomas Edison Campus) opens

1971 - Name changed to Edison Community College

1992 - Opening of Collier Campus

1997 - Opening of Charlotte Campus

2004 - Name changed to "Edison College"

2008 - Name changed to "Edison State College"

2010 - Opening of Hendry-Glades Center

2014 - Name changed to "Florida SouthWestern State College"